
DHHS Update for July 1, 2019 Foster Care Reimbursement Rate Committee Meeting 
 

1 
 

From: Simmons, Nanette <Nanette.Simmons@nebraska.gov>  
Sent: Monday, June 24, 2019 8:43 AM 
To: bill@compassnebraska.org; pharriott@childsaving.org; Jones, Christine 
<Christine.Jones@nebraska.gov>; ltempleplotz@nchs.org; Felicia Nelsen <felicia@nfapa.org> 
Cc: Biggs, Olivia <Olivia.Biggs@nebraska.gov> 
Subject: Foster Care Rates- 2% increase starting July 1, 2019 
 
Good Morning! Chris- please share with the other members of the foster care rate committee.  I believe 
you are all aware that DHHS  will be providing a 2% increase across many services within CFS per 
legislature.  Our staff have been working diligently to have this in effect July 1, 2019.   
 
This increases the rates determined by the NCR as well as the admin costs for agencies. The foster care 
rates will be increased as indicated below. A new NCR does not need to be completed in order to receive 
the rates on July 1. Please let me know if you have any questions.   
 
 
ESTABLISHED RATE:   
                For those youth age 0 through 5 years old, DHHS shall pay the Subrecipient: 

 $20.40 per day per youth for Out-of-Home Maintenance when the Nebraska 
Caregiver Responsibilities Score is at the Essential Parenting Level of Care; 
and,  

 $22.20 per day per youth for the provision of Agency Supported Foster Care 
services at the Essential Level of Support.  

 
For those youth age 0 through 5 years old, DHHS shall pay the Subrecipient:   

 $28.05 per day per youth for Out-of-Home Maintenance when the Nebraska 
Caregiver Responsibilities Score is at the Enhanced Parenting Level of Care; 
and,  

 $28.73 per day per youth for the provision of Agency Supported Foster Care 
services at the Enhanced Level of Support. 

 
For those youth age 0 through 5 years old, DHHS shall pay the Subrecipient: 

 $35.70 per day per youth for Out-of-Home Maintenance when the Nebraska 
Caregiver Responsibilities Score is at the Intensive Parenting Level of Care; and,  

 $39.54 per day per youth for the provision of Agency Supported Foster Care 
services at the Intensive Level of Support. 

 
For those youth age 6 through 11 years old, DHHS shall pay the Subrecipient: 

 $23.46 per day per youth for Out-of-Home Maintenance when the Nebraska 
Caregiver Responsibilities Score is at the Essential Parenting Level of Care; 
and,  

 $22.20 per day per youth for the provision of Agency Supported Foster Care 
services at the Essential Level of Support.  

 

For those youth age 6 through 11 years old, DHHS shall pay the Subrecipient:   

 $31.11 per day per youth for Out-of-Home Maintenance when the Nebraska 
Caregiver Responsibilities Score is at the Enhanced Parenting Level of Care; and,  

 $28.73 per day per youth for the provision of Agency Supported Foster Care 
services at the Enhanced Level of Support.  
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       For those youth age 6 through 11 years old, DHHS shall pay the Subrecipient: 

 $38.76 per day per youth for Out-of-Home Maintenance when the Nebraska 
Caregiver Responsibilities Score is at the Intensive Parenting Level of Care; and,  

 $39.54 per day per youth for the provision of Agency Supported Foster Care 
services at the Intensive Level of Support. 

 
      For those youth age 12 through 18 years old, DHHS shall pay the Subrecipient: 

 $25.50 per day per youth for Out-of-Home Maintenance when the Nebraska 
Caregiver Responsibilities Score is at the Essential Parenting Level of Care; 
and,  

 $22.20 per day per youth for the provision of Agency Supported Foster Care 
services at the Essential Level of Support. 

 
For those youth age 12 through 18 years old, DHHS shall pay the Subrecipient:   

 $33.15 per day per youth for Out-of-Home Maintenance when the Nebraska 
Caregiver Responsibilities Score is at the Enhanced Parenting Level of Care; 
and,  

 $28.73 per day per youth for the provision of Agency Supported Foster Care 
services at the Enhanced Level of Support. 

 
For those youth age 12 through 18 years old, DHHS shall pay the Subrecipient: 

 $40.80 per day per youth for Out-of-Home Maintenance when the Nebraska 
Caregiver Responsibilities Score is at the Intensive Parenting Level of Care; and,  

 $39.54 per day per youth for the provision of Agency Supported Foster Care 
services at the Intensive Level of 

 
 
 

Nanette Simmons | DHHS Administrator I  
CHILDREN & FAMILY SERVICES 

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services 
OFFICE: 402-471-9457 

DHHS.ne.gov  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  LinkedIn 

  
 
 

http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.facebook.com/NEDHHS/
https://twitter.com/NEDHHS
https://www.linkedin.com/company/nebraska-department-of-health-and-human-services

