Official Nebraska Government Website
Official Nebraska Government Website
Nebraska Children's Commission
Nebraska Children's Commission

Juvenile Services (OJS) Committee

Statutory Information:  Created by LB821(2012) and codified at Neb. Rev. Stat. §43-4203, this Committee examines the structure and responsibilities of the Office of Juvenile Services and makes recommendations related to the Youth Rehabilitation and Treatment Centers (YRTCs) and the juvenile justice system of care. In 2017, the Committee and the Nebraska Coalition for Juvenile Justice (NCJJ) made the decision to collaborate in order to eliminate duplication, coordinate work to support juvenile justice, and make the most responsible use of resources possible.

The Juvenile Services Committee and its subgroups have been working consistently and plan to continue in 2018. The current Co-Chairs of the Committee include Nicole Brundo (Douglas County Attorney's Office, Juvenile Division) and Kim Hawekottee (Foster Care Review Office). The subgroups consist of the Evaluation and Assessment Workgroup, Placement and Needs Mapping Workgroup, Out-of-Home Placement and Transition Workgroup, and the Legislative Workgroup. A chart of these groups can be found below.

While the committee has traditionally met on the second Tuesday of every other month, with the collaboration with the NCJJ, alternative meeting schedules are being considered. Notices of Committee meetings are published on the Nebraska Public Meeting Calendar. You can access current meeting documents here and past meeting documents may be found here.

Juvenile Services Committee Reports and Recommendations









Juvenile Services Committee Structure


If you would like additional information on the Juveniles Services Committee, its subgroups, or wish to be added to the mailing list for meetings, please contact Commission staff at or 402-890-6510.